Futures Prop Firm Comparison: 13 Firms, Rule by Rule (2026)

26 min read

Prop firm rules decide how you trade, when you get paid, and how fast you lose an account. This comparison puts the rules of 13 futures prop firms side by side, category by category, so you can see which constraints fit how you actually trade.

Every firm gets the same treatment: drawdown, daily loss limit, consistency, profit split, payouts, news trading, platforms, and the path to live. The numbers come from our firm-specific articles, each one checked against the firm's own program documentation.

The thirteen firms covered: Apex Trader Funding, Alpha Futures, Bulenox, E8 Futures, Earn2Trade, FTMO Futures, FundedNext Futures, Lucid Trading, My Funded Futures (MFF), Take Profit Trader, Top One Futures, Topstep, and Tradeify.

Prop firm rules change often. Every table below reflects the rules as published in September 2026, and each firm article linked above carries its own verification date.

Drawdown Rules Compared

Drawdown type is the single most important rule to understand before buying an account. It determines when your maximum loss limit moves, and that determines how much breathing room you actually have.

There are two main types:

  • EOD trailing drawdown updates once per day at session close. Your max loss limit only moves when your end-of-day balance makes a new high. This gives you room to hold through intraday swings without the floor chasing your position in real time.

  • Intraday (real-time) trailing drawdown updates tick by tick. Every new high watermark during the session immediately raises your floor. A trade that goes 20 ticks in your favor then reverses has already cost you 20 ticks of drawdown room, even if you close flat.

One thing the labels hide: most firms that use EOD trailing still check the breach in real time. The floor only moves at the close, but if an open trade drops your equity onto that floor mid-session, the account is gone. Topstep, Alpha Futures, FundedNext, Earn2Trade, FTMO Futures, and E8 all state this explicitly. EOD trailing protects you from the floor rising against you intraday. It does not protect you from hitting the floor intraday.

Firm

Eval

Sim funded

Lock behavior

Apex

EOD or intraday, chosen at purchase

Same as eval

Intraday locks at starting balance + $100. EOD lock not stated

Alpha Futures

EOD trailing (all plans)

EOD trailing

Locks at starting balance

Bulenox

Option 1 real-time, Option 2 EOD

Same as eval

Locks at starting balance + $100

E8 Futures

EOD trailing (both plans)

EOD trailing

Locks at initial balance (Zero: on first payout or when profit equals drawdown)

Earn2Trade

EOD trailing

EOD trailing (LiveSim); real-time on Live

Locks at starting balance

FTMO Futures

EOD trailing (both plans)

EOD trailing

Locks at starting balance

FundedNext Futures

EOD trailing (all plans)

EOD trailing

Locks at initial balance. Bolt trails to $50,100

Lucid

EOD trailing (LucidDaily: EOD or intraday, chosen at checkout)

EOD trailing (LucidDaily: always intraday)

Locks at starting balance + $100

MFF

EOD trailing (all plans)

EOD trailing (Rapid: intraday)

Floor locks at starting balance + $100

Take Profit Trader

EOD trailing (Test)

Intraday trailing (PRO); EOD on PRO+ live

Locks at starting balance

Top One Futures

EOD trailing (all plans)

EOD trailing

Locks at starting balance + $100, or on first payout

Topstep

Trails highest EOD balance, breach checked in real time

Same

Locks at starting balance (Combine); at $0 after first payout (XFA)

Tradeify

EOD trailing (all plans), no lock in eval

EOD trailing

Locks at starting balance + $100

What to pay attention to: Four firms change drawdown type between phases. Earn2Trade goes from EOD to real-time at the live stage. Take Profit Trader goes EOD on the Test, intraday on PRO, then back to EOD on PRO+. MFF Rapid is EOD in the eval and intraday once funded. LucidDaily lets you pick the eval type, but the funded account is always intraday. Read the funded phase rules, not just the eval rules.

Three firms let you choose the drawdown type yourself: Apex and Bulenox at purchase, LucidDaily at checkout (eval only).

Drawdown amounts on a 50K account

Most plans sit at $2,000 on a 50K account. The outliers matter more than the cluster: FundedNext Flex and E8 Zero give you $1,500, Alpha Advanced $1,750, Bulenox $2,500, and FTMO Pro $3,000.

Firm

Plan

Eval

Sim funded

Apex

EOD, Intraday

$2,000

$2,000 (carries over from eval)

Alpha Futures

Zero, Premium

$2,000

$2,000

Alpha Futures

Advanced

$1,750

$1,750

Bulenox

Option 1, Option 2

$2,500

$2,500

E8 Futures

Zero

$1,500

$1,500

E8 Futures

Signature

$2,000

$2,000

Earn2Trade

TCP50, GAU50

$2,000

$2,000

FTMO Futures

Pro

$3,000

$3,000

FTMO Futures

Growth

$2,000

$2,000

FundedNext

Flex

$1,500

$1,500

FundedNext

Bolt, Rapid, Legacy

$2,000

$2,000

Lucid

LucidPro, LucidFlex, LucidDaily

$2,000

$2,000

Lucid

LucidDirect

n/a

$2,000

MFF

Rapid

$2,000

$2,000

MFF

Builder

$2,000 or $1,500, chosen at checkout

Same as eval

MFF

Flex, Pro

$2,000

$2,000 (carries over from eval)

Take Profit Trader

Test, PRO

$2,000

$2,000

Top One Futures

All four plans

$2,000

$2,000

Topstep

Combine, XFA

$2,000

$2,000

Tradeify

Growth, Select

$2,000

$2,000

Tradeify

Lightning

n/a

$2,000

Daily Loss Limit Comparison

A daily loss limit (DLL) caps how much you can lose in a single session. Some traders want this guardrail. Others find it forces them to stop trading on days when one losing trade early doesn't mean the setup is broken.

The landscape here is complicated because DLL rules vary by plan within the same firm, and in three cases the trader decides.

No DLL on any plan: Take Profit Trader (except the PRO+ Development tier), MFF Rapid, E8 Zero.

You choose: LucidDaily (on or off at checkout, applies to eval and funded), Topstep Combine and XFA (optional add-on), MFF Flex 50K (optional add-on).

Plan by plan:

Firm

Plan

DLL on eval

DLL on funded

Breach type

Apex

EOD

Yes

Yes, tiered by PA level

Soft (pauses session)

Apex

Intraday

No

Yes, tiered by PA level

Soft

Alpha Futures

Zero

Yes (2% of balance)

Yes

Soft (locks until 6 PM ET)

Alpha Futures

Premium, Advanced

No

No

n/a

Bulenox

Option 1

No

No

n/a

Bulenox

Option 2

Yes

Yes, removed once drawdown reaches starting balance

Soft

E8 Futures

Zero

No

No

n/a

E8 Futures

Signature

No

Yes (2% daily pause)

Soft

Earn2Trade

All

Yes

Yes, removable once floor reaches starting balance

Hard breach

FTMO Futures

Pro

Yes

Yes

Hard breach

FTMO Futures

Growth

No

Yes

Soft

FundedNext

Bolt

Yes

Yes

Soft

FundedNext

Flex, Rapid, Legacy

No

No

n/a

Lucid

LucidPro

Yes (50K and up)

Yes; becomes 60% of peak EOD balance above the initial trail

Soft

Lucid

LucidFlex

No

No

n/a

Lucid

LucidDirect

n/a

Yes (except 25K)

Soft

MFF

Builder

Yes ($1,000)

Yes ($1,000), carries to live

Soft

MFF

Pro

No

No on sim; yes on live

Not stated

Take Profit Trader

PRO+ Development

n/a

Yes ($500 to $2,000)

Soft

Top One Futures

Elite Daily

Yes

Yes

Soft

Top One Futures

Elite Access

No

Yes

Soft

Top One Futures

Instant, Ignite

n/a

Yes

Soft

Topstep

Live

n/a

Yes, automatic

Soft

Tradeify

Growth

Yes

Yes; rises to match drawdown after 6% profit

Soft

Tradeify

Select

No

Daily path yes, Flex path no

Soft

Tradeify

Lightning

n/a

Yes (except 25K)

Soft

Soft vs. hard breach matters. Most firms pause your trading for the day on a DLL breach. Two firms fail the account instead: Earn2Trade on all plans, and FTMO Futures on the Pro plan (eval and funded). FTMO Growth has no DLL in the eval and a soft one once funded. Along with Growth's smaller drawdown and 50% withdrawable share, that is what separates FTMO's two plans. Bulenox Option 2 and Earn2Trade both let you remove the DLL after your drawdown locks, which is a meaningful rule change mid-account.

Consistency Rule Comparison

Consistency rules cap how much of your total profit can come from a single day. The calculation is the same everywhere: your largest single day's profit divided by your total profits equals your consistency percentage. If that number exceeds the firm's threshold, you can't request a payout (or pass the eval) until you bring it down.

Here's a concrete example. Say you're on a funded account with a 40% consistency rule. You've made $5,000 in total profit across 8 trading days, but $2,500 of that came from one session. That one day is 50% of your total, which is above the 40% threshold. You need to keep trading profitable days until that $2,500 day drops below 40% of your new total. At $6,250 in total profit, the big day would represent exactly 40%. So you need at least $1,250 more in profit from other days before you can withdraw.

This math is why consistency affects your timeline more than almost any other rule. The tighter the percentage, the more days you need. At Top One Ignite's 15%, a $1,000 best day needs $6,667 in total profit before you can withdraw.

What happens when you violate it

No firm in this comparison breaches your account for failing consistency. The consequences are:

  • Payout blocked (funded phase): Apex, Alpha Zero, Bulenox, E8 Signature, FundedNext Rapid, LucidPro and LucidDirect, MFF Builder, Top One Access, Instant, and Ignite, Topstep XFA Consistency, Tradeify Growth and Lightning. Keep trading profitable days until the ratio improves. The percentage resets after each approved payout.

  • Pass delayed (eval phase): Alpha Premium and Advanced, Earn2Trade, FTMO, LucidFlex and LucidDaily, MFF Rapid, Flex, and Pro, Top One Elite Daily, Tradeify Select. Same mechanic, applied to the profit target instead of a payout.

  • Profit target raised (eval phase): FundedNext Flex, Bolt, and Legacy, Take Profit Trader, Topstep Combine, E8 Zero. Instead of blocking you, a big day increases what you have to earn. If your target is $3,000 and you earn $1,500 in one day against a 40% cap, your new target becomes $3,750. You're not failed, but you now need to earn more.

Where consistency applies

Firm

Plan

Eval

Funded

Apex

All

None (can pass in 1 session)

50%

Alpha Futures

Zero

None

40%

Alpha Futures

Premium, Advanced

50%

None

Bulenox

All

None

40% (every payout)

E8 Futures

Zero

40%

None

E8 Futures

Signature

None

35%

Earn2Trade

All

30%

None

FTMO Futures

Pro

50%

None

FTMO Futures

Growth

40%

None

FundedNext

Flex, Bolt, Legacy

40%

None

FundedNext

Rapid

None

40%

Lucid

LucidPro

None (can pass in 1 day)

40%

Lucid

LucidFlex, LucidDaily

50%

None

Lucid

LucidDirect

n/a

20%

MFF

Rapid, Flex, Pro

50% (Pro One Day add-on: none)

None

MFF

Builder

None (can pass in 1 day)

50%

Take Profit Trader

All

50%

None

Top One Futures

Elite Daily

40%

None

Top One Futures

Elite Access

None

40%

Top One Futures

Instant Sim Funded

n/a

20%

Top One Futures

Ignite

n/a

15%

Topstep

Combine, then XFA

50%

XFA Standard none; XFA Consistency 40%

Tradeify

Growth

None (can pass in 1 day)

35%

Tradeify

Select

40%

None

Tradeify

Lightning

n/a

20% on payout 1, 25% on payout 2, 30% after

The strategic difference: eval vs. funded consistency

Every current plan in this comparison puts the consistency rule on either the eval or the funded phase, never both. The last plan that enforced it at both stages, Alpha Futures Standard, was retired on May 1, 2026. Premium, its replacement, only applies the rule during the eval.

Consistency on eval only (Alpha Premium and Advanced, Earn2Trade, E8 Zero, FTMO, FundedNext Flex, Bolt, and Legacy, LucidFlex and LucidDaily, MFF Rapid, Flex, and Pro, Take Profit Trader, Top One Elite Daily, Topstep XFA Standard, Tradeify Select): You need multiple profitable days to pass the evaluation, but once funded, you can have a massive winning day and withdraw without worrying about the ratio. This favors traders who want to grind through the eval and then trade freely.

Consistency on funded only (Apex, Alpha Zero, Bulenox, E8 Signature, FundedNext Rapid, LucidPro, MFF Builder, Top One Elite Access, Topstep XFA Consistency, Tradeify Growth): You can pass the eval in a single session (or very few days), but every payout request on the funded account must meet the consistency threshold. This favors traders who can pass evaluations quickly but need to pace their funded trading more carefully.

Instant funded plans skip the eval, so the rule lands on payouts and it's tight. LucidDirect and Top One Instant Sim Funded are 20%. Top One Ignite is 15%. Tradeify Lightning starts at 20% on the first payout and loosens to 30% after that.

Tradeify Lightning's loosening consistency

Tradeify Lightning is the only plan where the threshold changes over time, and it moves in the trader's favor: 20% on your first payout, 25% on your second, and 30% on all payouts after that. The first payout is the strict one. On a 50K account, the first profit goal is $3,000, and at 20% no single day can contribute more than $600 of it, so you need at least five profitable days that all pull roughly equal weight. From the second payout on, the goal drops to $2,000 and the cap rises to 25% and then 30%, so a $600 day is allowed again on a smaller goal. Once you clear the first payout, the rule gets easier to live with, not harder.

Profit Split Comparison

Profit split is what you keep when you withdraw. Most sim-funded accounts range from 80/20 to 90/10 (trader/firm). Apex is the outlier at 100/0, and E8 Zero lets you buy the 100% option at purchase.

Firm

Sim funded split

Notes

Apex

100/0

All plans

E8 Futures (Zero)

80/20 or 100/0

Chosen at purchase, not earned

Bulenox

100% on first $10K, then 90/10

Tiered structure

Alpha Futures

90/10

All plans, flat from first payout. Live drops to 60% or 80%

FTMO Futures

90/10

Pro withdraws 100% of profit. Growth withdraws only 50% of profit, then the split applies

Lucid

90/10

All plans

MFF (Rapid)

90/10

Builder, Flex, Pro are 80/20

Take Profit Trader (PRO+)

90/10

PRO is 80/20

Top One Futures

90/10

All plans. Live drops to 80/20

Topstep

90/10

XFA and live

Tradeify

90/10

All plans. Elite Live drops to 80/20 plus a reward pool

E8 Futures (Signature)

80/20

Fixed

Earn2Trade

80/20

All plans, sim and live

FundedNext Futures

80/20

All plans. Flex can add 90/10 as a paid add-on

MFF (Builder, Flex, Pro)

80/20

Take Profit Trader (PRO)

80/20

Context matters more than the number. A 90/10 split with a $2,000 payout cap pays less than an 80/20 split with no cap. FTMO Growth is the clearest example: 90/10 sounds generous, but only half your profit is withdrawable in the first place, so $5,000 of profit yields a $2,250 payout. Always look at the payout structure alongside the split percentage.

Payout Frequency and Withdrawal Rules

How often you can withdraw and how much you can take out varies more than any other rule category. Frequency alone doesn't tell you much. A daily payout with a $600 cap and a buffer requirement might pay out less per month than a biweekly payout with no cap.

Key terms before diving in

Buffer (or safety threshold): A minimum balance you must maintain above your starting balance before you can withdraw. If a 50K account has a $2,100 buffer, your balance must stay above $52,100 after the withdrawal. The buffer protects the firm's drawdown cushion and limits how much of your profit is actually withdrawable.

Winning day / qualifying day: A trading day where you hit a minimum profit threshold. The amount varies by firm and account size. For example, Topstep counts a $150 day, while Apex EOD on a 50K account requires $250. These thresholds determine how fast you can unlock your next payout.

Payout cap: A maximum withdrawal amount per request. Most firms cap early payouts and increase limits over time. Some remove caps entirely after a set number of payouts.

Lifecycle limit: A maximum number of payouts before the account ends or is reviewed for live. Most sim funded accounts in this comparison have one.

Payout frequency comparison

Firm

Plan

Frequency

Key conditions

MFF

Rapid

Daily

$500 min, buffer required, no consistency rule

Tradeify

Select Daily

Daily

$250 min, buffer required, up to 2x profit since last payout

Lucid

LucidDaily

Any day

$500 min, no cap, only profit above the buffer

Top One

Elite Daily

Daily from day one

$500 min, buffer, half of each request must be new profit

E8

Zero

Daily

$100 min, flat cap, 5 payouts max

MFF

Builder

Every 48 hours

$500 min, $2,000 cap, 50% consistency, 5 payouts max

FundedNext

Rapid

Every 3 days

Caps removed after 5 payouts

Lucid

LucidPro

3 days to payout

Must meet profit target + 40% consistency, 5 payouts max

Topstep

XFA Consistency

After 3 trading days

40% consistency, cap 50% of balance

FTMO Futures

Growth

Every 4 qualifying days

$20 min, half of request must be new profit, 50% of profit withdrawable

FTMO Futures

Pro

Every 5 qualifying days

$20 min, half of request must be new profit

Tradeify

Growth

5 trading days between requests

5 profitable days, minimum balance, 35% consistency

Tradeify

Select Flex

Every 5 winning days

50% of total profits, capped, no buffer

Lucid

LucidFlex

Every 5 winning days

50% of profit, capped, 5 payouts max

MFF

Flex

Every 5 winning days

50% of net profits, capped, 5 payouts max

Topstep

XFA Standard

After 5 winning days

Cap 50% of balance

Top One

Elite Access

5 profitable days

Buffer plus cycle profit target

FundedNext

Flex

5 benchmark days, then cycle-based

50% of profit, capped, 5 payouts max

FundedNext

Legacy

After 5 benchmark days

50% capped before 30 days, uncapped after

E8

Signature

5 profitable days between payouts

$100 min, buffer, 35% consistency, 5 payouts max

Alpha Futures

All

Up to 4x per month

After 5 winning days of $200+

Apex

All

After 5 qualifying days

6 payouts then account lifecycle ends

Earn2Trade

All

Weekly (Wednesdays)

Request by Friday 2 PM, $100 net min

Bulenox

All

Anytime (processed Wednesdays)

$1,000 min, first 3 capped, 10 trading days before first

MFF

Pro

Every 14 days

$100K lifetime max per user

Take Profit Trader

PRO/PRO+

Day one (after buffer on PRO)

No minimum, no maximum

Tradeify

Lightning

Whenever profit goal is hit

Consistency loosens from 20% to 30%

Lucid

LucidDirect

Profit goal + 5 trading days before first

20% consistency, 5 payouts max

Top One

Instant, Ignite

Whenever profit target is hit

20% / 15% consistency, no buffer

Payout caps by firm (50K accounts)

This is where the real differences show. Here's what a 50K account can actually withdraw at each payout stage:

Firm

Plan

Payout 1

Payout 2

Payout 3

Payout 4+

Apex

EOD

$1,500

$1,500

$2,000

$2,500, $2,500, $3,000, then account ends

Apex

Intraday

$1,500

$2,000

$2,500

$2,500, $3,000, $3,000, then account ends

Alpha Futures

Zero

50% of profit, max $1,500

Same

Same

Same

Alpha Futures

Premium

$2,000

$2,250

$2,500

$3,000, then $4,000

Alpha Futures

Advanced

50% of profit, max $15,000

Same

Same

Same

Bulenox

All

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

No cap

E8

Zero Starter

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000 (5 max)

E8

Zero MAX

$3,000

$3,000

$3,000

$3,000 (5 max)

E8

Signature

$1,250

$1,250

$2,250

$2,250, then $3,250 (5 max)

Earn2Trade

Gauntlet (LiveSim)

$4,000

$4,000

$4,000

$4,000

FTMO Futures

Pro

$5,000

$5,000

$5,000

$5,000

FTMO Futures

Growth

50% of profit, max $2,500

Same

Same

Same

FundedNext

Flex

50% of profit, max $1,500

Same

Same

Same (5 max)

FundedNext

Bolt

$1,200

$1,200

$1,200

$1,200, then up to $7,700 on payout 5, then account ends

FundedNext

Rapid

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500, uncapped after payout 5

FundedNext

Legacy

50% of profit, max $6,000

Same

Same

Uncapped after 30 benchmark days

Lucid

LucidPro

$2,000

$2,500

$2,500

$2,500 (5 max)

Lucid

LucidFlex

50% of profit, max $2,000

Same

Same

Same (5 max)

Lucid

LucidDaily

No cap

No cap

No cap

No cap (profit above $52,100)

Lucid

LucidDirect

$2,000

$2,000

$2,000

$2,500 (5 max)

MFF

Rapid

No cap stated

No cap stated

No cap stated

No cap stated

MFF

Builder

$2,000

$2,000

$2,000

$2,000 (5 max)

MFF

Flex

50% of net profit, max $2,000

Same

Same

Same (5 max)

MFF

Pro

No per-payout cap

No cap

No cap

$100K lifetime max per user

Take Profit Trader

PRO/PRO+

No cap

No cap

No cap

No cap

Top One

Elite Daily

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

Top One

Elite Access

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

Top One

Instant Sim Funded

$2,500

$2,500

$2,500

$2,500

Top One

Ignite

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

Topstep

XFA Standard

$2,000 and 50% of balance

Same

Same

Same

Topstep

XFA Consistency

$3,000 and 50% of balance

Same

Same

Same

Tradeify

Growth

$1,500

$2,000

$2,500

$3,000

Tradeify

Select Daily

2x profit since last payout, max $1,000

Same

Same

Same

Tradeify

Select Flex

50% of profit, max $3,000

Same

Same

Same

Tradeify

Lightning

$2,000

$2,000

$2,000

$2,500

Buffer requirements

Several firms require you to maintain a minimum balance before withdrawing. This means not all of your profit is available to take out.

Firm

Plan

Buffer (50K account)

Apex

EOD, Intraday

Safety net $52,100; balance must reach $52,600 to request

Alpha Futures

All

Not stated

Bulenox

Option 1, Option 2

$2,600 safety threshold

E8 Futures

Zero

No buffer, but withdrawing all profit after the floor locks breaches the account

E8 Futures

Signature

Permanent buffer equal to the drawdown ($2,000)

Earn2Trade

TCP, GAU

Not stated

FTMO Futures

Pro, Growth

No buffer stated on sim funded; live has a one-time buffer equal to max drawdown ($3,000 on Pro)

FundedNext

Flex, Rapid, Legacy

No buffer

FundedNext

Bolt

EOD balance must reach $52,100

Lucid

LucidPro

Balance must stay above the max loss limit + $100

Lucid

LucidFlex

No buffer

Lucid

LucidDaily

$52,100

Lucid

LucidDirect

Not stated

MFF

Rapid

$2,100 above starting balance

MFF

Builder

$2,100 ($1,600 with the $1,500 drawdown option); must be cleared before requesting

MFF

Flex

No buffer; $500 total net profit required

MFF

Pro

$2,100 above starting balance; can withdraw 60% before clearing it

Take Profit Trader

PRO

Balance must reach $52,000 (starting balance + drawdown)

Take Profit Trader

PRO+

No buffer, but $5K frozen from PRO

Top One Futures

Elite Daily

$2,500

Top One Futures

Elite Access

$2,000, plus $500, plus a $2,500 cycle profit target

Top One Futures

Instant, Ignite

No buffer

Topstep

XFA

Not stated; payouts capped at 50% of balance

Tradeify

Growth

Balance must reach $53,000

Tradeify

Select Daily

$2,100

Tradeify

Select Flex

No buffer

Tradeify

Lightning

Not stated

Firms with no buffer stated (Alpha Futures, Earn2Trade, Topstep) either have no minimum balance requirement or bake the requirement into their profit target or percentage-of-balance rules.

A related trap: at FTMO Pro, E8 Zero, and FundedNext Rapid, once the drawdown floor has locked at your starting balance, withdrawing 100% of your profit drops your balance onto the floor and breaches the account. All three articles flag this directly.

Winning day thresholds (50K accounts)

Firm

Plan

Minimum daily profit to count as a qualifying day

Apex

EOD

$250

Apex

Intraday

$200

Alpha Futures

Zero, Premium, Advanced

$200

Bulenox

Option 1, Option 2

No winning day requirement

E8 Futures

Zero

No winning day requirement

E8 Futures

Signature

0.3% closed profit; dollar figure not stated

Earn2Trade

TCP, GAU

Not stated

FTMO Futures

Pro

$200

FTMO Futures

Growth

$150

FundedNext

Flex

$200

FundedNext

Legacy

5 benchmark days required; amount not stated

FundedNext

Bolt, Rapid

No benchmark days required

Lucid

LucidPro

3 days to payout; no profit minimum stated

Lucid

LucidFlex

$150

Lucid

LucidDaily

No winning day requirement

Lucid

LucidDirect

5 trading days; no profit minimum stated

MFF

Flex

$150

MFF

Rapid, Builder, Pro

Not stated

Take Profit Trader

PRO, PRO+

No winning day requirement

Top One Futures

Elite Access

$250

Top One Futures

Elite Daily, Instant, Ignite

No winning day requirement

Topstep

XFA Standard

$150

Tradeify

Growth, Select Flex

$150

Tradeify

Select Daily, Lightning

No winning day requirement

Five payouts and done

A five-payout ceiling is the most common lifecycle structure in this comparison:

  • Lucid LucidPro, LucidFlex, and LucidDirect: 5 payouts, then the live review pool. Five is a ceiling, not a guarantee of going live.

  • FundedNext Flex: 5 withdrawals, then the account concludes and is evaluated for live. Bolt: 5 withdrawals, no live path.

  • MFF Builder and Flex: 5 sim payouts, then live.

  • E8 Zero and Signature: 5 payouts, then the account is deactivated and you receive a free challenge of the same size. E8 has no live account, so this is the whole cycle.

  • Alpha Futures all plans: $40,000 total paid or 5 payouts, whichever comes first, then a review for Alpha Prime.

  • Apex: 6 payouts per Performance Account, then it ends. You pass another evaluation and open a new PA. Up to 20 active PAs at once.

Top One reviews for live after 3 payouts (Elite Access, Instant, Ignite) or 5 (Elite Daily). Tradeify considers traders after 3 payouts on one account or 10 total. Topstep typically calls traders up between the 3rd and 5th XFA payout. None of those three end the account at a fixed count, but the sim phase is clearly meant to be temporary.

If you plan to sit on a sim funded account and withdraw for a year, check this rule first. At most firms, that is not how it works.

Processing days

Most firms process payouts on specific days, not instantly:

  • Bulenox: Wednesdays only

  • Earn2Trade: Wednesdays only (request by Friday 2 PM the week before)

  • Apex: Processing varies, typically 1 to 3 business days

  • MFF: Daily; live accounts need the request in before 11 AM ET for same-day processing

  • Take Profit Trader: Wallet transfer in about 24 business hours, then admin approval

  • FundedNext: 1 to 3 business days after request

  • E8: Approved within 1 business day, funds land 1 to 3 business days later

  • LucidDaily: Funds leave within minutes, arrive within 2 business days

News Trading Rules by Firm

No restrictions on funded accounts:

  • Apex Trader Funding (two-sided news gambling is prohibited)

  • E8 Futures (both plans; E8 recommends against it but it is not a rule)

  • FTMO Futures (no windows; "news event concentration" can be flagged if it is unlike the rest of your trading)

  • FundedNext Futures (all programs)

  • Lucid Trading (LucidPro, LucidFlex, LucidDirect)

  • Alpha Futures (Premium and Advanced)

  • Top One Futures (Instant Sim Funded and Ignite)

  • Topstep (no windows; loading full position size into a release is prohibited conduct)

  • Tradeify (all plans)

Restrictions apply:

  • MFF: flat 2 minutes before and after any release on every account. FOMC, NFP, CPI, and EIA and Ag reports are fully prohibited on Rapid and Pro funded accounts. Builder and Flex can trade those events, subject to the 2-minute rule.

  • Take Profit Trader: must be flat 1 minute before, during, and after FOMC statements, NFP, and CPI. Crude Oil Inventories restricts crude contracts. Bond Auctions restrict the 10-year and 30-year.

  • Alpha Futures Zero: no orders within 2 minutes before or after high-impact red-folder events. First violation voids the profits and denies the payout. Second is a breach.

  • LucidDaily (funded only): flat from 1 minute before to 1 minute after any US high-impact red-folder event. Holding through it is a hard breach.

  • Top One Elite Daily and Elite Access (funded only): no trades within 2 minutes before or after high-impact releases.

Not mentioned in the firm's rules: Bulenox and Earn2Trade. Neither article addresses news trading. Treat it as unstated rather than unrestricted.

If news trading is central to your strategy, check whether the specific plan you're considering allows it on funded accounts. Lucid, Top One, Alpha, and MFF all allow it on some plans and restrict it on others.

Supported Platforms and Data Feeds

Firm

Platforms

Data feed

Apex

Rithmic, Tradovate, WealthCharts

Not stated

Alpha Futures

AlphaTrader, NinjaTrader, TradingView, WealthCharts, Quantower, Deepcharts, Tradovate

Not stated

Bulenox

NinjaTrader and any Rithmic-compatible platform

Rithmic

E8 Futures

Tradovate only

Not stated

Earn2Trade

Tradovate, NinjaTrader, Finamark

Rithmic

FTMO Futures

Tradovate, NinjaTrader, TradingView

Not stated

FundedNext Futures

Tradovate, NinjaTrader, TradingView

Not stated

Lucid Trading

NinjaTrader, Tradovate, TradingView, TradeSea, MotiveWave, Quantower

CQG, Rithmic

MFF

Tradovate (covers NinjaTrader and TradingView), Quantower

Not stated

Take Profit Trader

NinjaTrader, Tradovate, TradingView (CQG); R|Trader, Quantower, MotiveWave (Rithmic)

CQG, Rithmic

Top One Futures

Tradovate, NinjaTrader, TradingView

Not stated

Topstep

TopstepX only

Not stated

Tradeify

Tradovate, NinjaTrader, TradeSea, WealthCharts

Rithmic via TradeSea

Two firms lock you to a single platform: Topstep runs everything on its own TopstepX, and E8 Futures is Tradovate only. If you use a specific charting platform, check that it's compatible with your firm before purchasing. Whichever platform you land on, Tanto syncs trades in real time from every firm and platform in this table, so your journal stays the same even if your firm changes.

Path to Live Funded Trading

Every firm has a different threshold for transitioning from sim-funded to live capital. Some are transparent about requirements. Others are invitation-only. Two have no live account at all.

Firm

How you qualify

Key details

Apex

Invitation only

Terms not published

Alpha Futures

$40K paid or 5 payouts triggers review

Sim closed, 50% final withdrawal. $5K of your balance plus $5K match = $10K static drawdown. 60% or 80% split

Bulenox

3 Master payouts, risk desk discretion

All Master accounts consolidate into one Funded account

E8 Futures

No live account

Both stages are simulated

Earn2Trade

Pass the eval

Guaranteed offer from partner firm. LiveSim (EOD) or Live (real-time trailing). TCP ladder grows to $400K

FTMO Futures

Invitation only

90/10, one-time buffer equal to max drawdown, then daily uncapped payouts

FundedNext Futures

$100K total active profits, or 5 Flex withdrawals; mandatory

80% of sim profit converts: half paid out, 25% becomes the live deposit (cap $50K), rest held in reserve. Bolt has no live path

Lucid

5th payout enters review pool; LucidDaily via max daily profit

$0 start, EOD drawdown, no DLL, daily payouts, live bonus equal to starting drawdown

MFF

Rapid: $10K single day. Builder: 5th payout. Flex: 5 consecutive payouts. Pro: 3 consecutive payouts; mandatory

Rapid: $0 start, EOD, no DLL, up to $5K held in reserve. Pro: static drawdown with DLL

Take Profit Trader

Invitation only

PRO+: $0 start, 90/10, EOD drawdown, no DLL, $5K frozen from PRO

Top One Futures

3 payouts (Access, Instant, Ignite) or 5 (Elite Daily)

80/20, static max loss of 60% of account size, daily payouts, $200 min

Topstep

Risk Team call-up, typically payouts 3 to 5; cannot decline

20% of balance tradable at start, 80% released in 4 steps. $1,000 floor. 90/10. Automatic DLL

Tradeify

3 payouts on one account or 10 total; selection; mandatory

Elite Live: $0 start, 80/20, EOD, no DLL, daily payouts, monthly reward pool

Live accounts are not always better. Tradeify's Elite Live and Top One's live accounts drop to 80/20 from 90/10. Alpha Prime drops to 60% or 80%. Take Profit Trader freezes $5K of your PRO profit. FundedNext takes half your converted profit as a settlement and holds the rest in reserve. Topstep locks 80% of your balance in reserve at the start. Several transitions are mandatory once offered. Read the live terms before you get there, not after.

How to Compare Prop Firms by Trading Style

Here's how the rules map to different trading approaches. Find the constraints that matter to your strategy, then compare the firms that match.

If you want no consistency rule on funded accounts

MFF (Rapid, Flex, Pro), Take Profit Trader, FundedNext (Flex, Bolt, Legacy), Alpha Futures (Premium, Advanced), Tradeify Select, LucidFlex, LucidDaily, Earn2Trade, Topstep XFA Standard, Top One Elite Daily, FTMO Futures, and E8 Zero all skip consistency requirements on funded accounts. This matters most for traders who have occasional large winning days and don't want those days to create payout problems.

If you want no daily loss limit

MFF Rapid, Take Profit Trader, FundedNext (Flex, Rapid, Legacy), Alpha Futures (Premium, Advanced), Bulenox Option 1, Tradeify Select Flex, LucidFlex, E8 Zero, and MFF Pro on sim all skip the DLL. LucidDaily and Topstep let you leave it off. Traders who size up on conviction plays or hold through larger drawdowns before targets tend to prefer this.

If you trade news events

Apex, FundedNext, Tradeify, Topstep, FTMO Futures, E8, Lucid (LucidPro, LucidFlex, LucidDirect), Alpha Futures (Premium, Advanced), and Top One (Instant, Ignite) have no news windows on funded accounts. If you trade FOMC, NFP, or CPI regularly, check the funded phase rules for the exact plan. Lucid, Top One, Alpha, and MFF each have plans on both sides of this line.

If you want the fastest payout frequency

Five plans offer daily payouts on sim funded accounts: MFF Rapid, Tradeify Select Daily, LucidDaily, Top One Elite Daily, and E8 Zero. The tradeoffs differ. MFF Rapid uses intraday trailing drawdown. Tradeify Select Daily and Top One Elite Daily have buffers and per-payout caps. LucidDaily has a buffer, an intraday drawdown once funded, and a news restriction. E8 Zero has a flat cap and a five-payout lifecycle.

If you want the highest profit split

Apex pays 100/0 on sim-funded accounts. E8 Zero offers a 100/0 option at purchase. Bulenox pays 100% on the first $10K then drops to 90/10. Lucid, Tradeify, Alpha Futures, MFF Rapid, Topstep, Top One, and FTMO Futures all pay 90/10.

If you want instant funding with no evaluation

LucidDirect, Tradeify Lightning, Top One Instant Sim Funded, and Top One Ignite all skip the evaluation entirely. You start on a funded account immediately. All four come with tighter consistency rules (15% to 30%) than their evaluation-based counterparts.

If you want to pick your own drawdown type

Apex and Bulenox let you choose EOD or intraday trailing at purchase. LucidDaily lets you choose for the eval, but the funded account is always intraday.

How to Choose Based on These Rules

  1. Start with your dealbreakers. If you can't trade without news access, eliminate plans with restrictions. If a daily loss limit would change your strategy, filter to plans without one.

  2. Compare within your account size. Rules and payout caps vary by account size within the same firm. A 50K account at Tradeify Growth has different caps than a 150K account.

  3. Read the funded rules, not just the eval rules. Several firms change drawdown type, add consistency rules, or modify DLL requirements between phases. The eval is just the entry point.

  4. Check the lifecycle. Most sim funded accounts end or get reviewed after five payouts. Know what happens at payout five before you buy.

  5. Check payout math, not just payout frequency. Daily payouts with a $1,500 cap and a buffer requirement might pay out less per month than biweekly payouts with no cap.

Whichever firm you choose, tracking your trades across evaluations and funded accounts helps you see what's working. Tanto auto-syncs trades from all 13 firms covered here so every session is journaled, graded, and ready to review. You can also test your strategy against any firm's rules before purchasing with the prop firm simulator.


Last updated: September 19th, 2026

Frequently Asked Questions

Which futures prop firm has the best rules?
There is no single "best." The right rules depend on your trading style. A scalper who trades 50 times a day has different needs than a swing trader who takes 2 or 3 trades per week. For example, Apex offers a 100/0 profit split but limits you to 6 payouts per account. Take Profit Trader has no daily loss limit and no payout cap but restricts news trading and uses intraday trailing drawdown on funded accounts. Every firm has tradeoffs. This comparison breaks down each rule category so you can match firms to your specific approach.
How do prop firm drawdown rules compare?
Most futures prop firms use EOD (end-of-day) trailing drawdown, which only updates your max loss floor at session close. Some plans use intraday trailing drawdown that updates tick by tick: MFF Rapid, Take Profit Trader PRO, LucidDaily, Bulenox Option 1, and Apex Intraday. EOD gives more room during the trading day because unrealized gains don't immediately raise your floor. Most EOD firms still check the breach in real time, though, so an open trade can still end the account mid-session.
Do all prop firms have a consistency rule?
No. Every plan in this comparison applies consistency to either the eval or the funded phase, never both. Take Profit Trader, Earn2Trade, FTMO Futures, and several plans at MFF, Lucid, FundedNext, Alpha Futures, and Tradeify skip it entirely on funded accounts. The consistency rule table above shows exactly which plans apply it and when.
Can you trade news events at futures prop firms?
It depends on the firm and the plan. Apex, Tradeify, FundedNext, Topstep, FTMO Futures, and E8 have no news windows on funded accounts. MFF, Take Profit Trader, Alpha Futures Zero, LucidDaily, and Top One's Elite plans restrict trading around high-impact events like FOMC, NFP, and CPI on funded accounts.
How do prop firm payout structures compare?
Payout structures vary widely. Frequency ranges from daily (MFF Rapid, Tradeify Select Daily, LucidDaily, Top One Elite Daily, E8 Zero) to biweekly (MFF Pro). Most firms cap early payouts and increase limits over time. For example, a 50K Bulenox account caps payouts at $1,500 for the first three withdrawals then removes the cap entirely, while Tradeify Growth starts at $1,500 and scales to $3,000 by payout four. Most sim funded accounts end or get reviewed for live after five payouts. Always check minimum balance requirements, buffer rules, and the payout lifecycle before requesting a withdrawal.
Which futures prop firms have no live account?
E8 Futures runs both stages as simulated accounts and states it does not operate as a broker. FundedNext Bolt is a sim-only plan with no path to live, though FundedNext's other plans do transition. Apex, Take Profit Trader, and FTMO Futures have live accounts but move traders there by invitation only, with no published trigger.